Rautahat District Profile-Historic District of Province no.2

Rautahat District


After the formation of the Constitution of Nepal, Nepal was divided into 7 Province and 77 districts in 2015 A.D (2072 B.S). Rautahat district is one of the eight districts that lie in province no-2. It’s located in the southeastern part of Nepal. Its border is connected with Sarlahi in the east, Bara in the west, Makawanpur in the North, and the Bihar state of India in the South.

The name of the Rautahat district is a combination of two words ‘Raut’ and ‘hut’. The word ‘Raut’ especially refers to the ‘Yadav’ (Gwala) community people while the word ‘hut’ means the market. The word Rautahat means a place inhabited by the Yadav’s. As a result of the Yadav’s become dense in this region by the course of time, thus named “Rautahat”. However, there is no concrete information for this.

Rautahat is the smallest district that covers an area of 1126 KM². The headquarter of this district is Gaur. According to the census of 2068, Rautahat holds a population of 6,86,722 which is 2.59% of the total population of Nepal.

Historical Background:

During the unification campaign of Nepal, The Great King Prithvi Narayan Shah of Gorkha had conquered Makawanpur. At that time ‘Rautahat district’ was a part of Makawanpur. It could not be merged into a large Gurkha state.

The British camped into the plain of Bara, Parsa, and Rautahat for three years. When they were defeated into the mountain of Nepal in 1764. During that time Rautahat district was not under the control of any single government. But it was only in 1783, the company government decided to return Rautahat district to Gorkhali by a formerly British district. But, in 1814 B.S. the war was waged with the imperialist power East India Company over the issue of 22 villages in the present Rautahat district.

The anti-Rana movement of 2007 started from Gaur, Rautahat for the first time in the history of Nepal. Rautahat has played a significant role in the anti-feudal movement. Shiva Kumar Singh was a martyr in the movement. The anti-feudal movement was conducted from 2009 to 2014. The Rautahat Peasant Movement of 2009 was a movement of historical significance. The slogans and demands in Rautahat about 55 years ago remain as it is. Rautahat district is a stronghold of the peasant movement. These historical periods reflect the dignity of Rautahat district.

Purenwa Durbar is one of the oldest palaces in Rautahat, Built during the Rana Dynasty.

Bottom of Form

Administrative body:

Rautahat district has 18 municipalities among them two are rural municipalities and 16 are urban municipalities. They help to run all the local administration established in this district. Gaur municipality is the oldest municipality of this district established in 2049 B.S. A judicial court was established in this district for the people justice. Each municipality has not more than 9 wards. Rautahat District Profile-

1) Gaur Municipality

2) Chandrapur Municipality

3) Baudhimai Municipality

4) Brindavan Municipality

5) Dewahi Gonahi Municipality

6) Gadhimai Municipality, Nepal

7) Garuda Municipality

8) Gujara Municipality

9) Ishanath Municipality

10) Katahariya Municipality

11) Madhav Narayan Municipality

12) Maulapur Municipality

13) Paroha Municipality

14) Phatuwa Bijayapur Municipality

15) Rajdevi Municipality

16) Rajpur Municipality

17) Durga Bhagwati Rural Municipality

18) Yamunamai Rural Municipality


In the Rautahat district many schools and campuses offer school level, secondary as well as bachelor level education. Also, the technical institution provides technical education to students. E.g. Institute of community technical education, M-Tech Computer Institute, Gaur Nursing Institute. Some of the schools and colleges are:

Shree Juddha Campus

Gauri Shankar Yadav Rautahat Campus

International Bal Academy

Shree Mid Regional Police Boarding High School

Prabhat Secondary English Boarding School

Mount Everest Res. Secondary School

Janajyoti Multiple Campus

Jay Kishan Multiple Campus,

Katahariya Multiple Campus,

Maharshi Valmiki Campus,

Om College,

Sublal Bhagawat Multiple Campus, etc.

Shree Juddha Campus:

The origin of this campus goes back to its former “Shree Juddha Secondary School” and further into “Shree Juddha Higher Secondary School”. This college is the third-oldest college in Nepal inaugurated by Juddha Shamsher during the Rana dynasty. The school got its name from his name. The institution has about 2000 students. Shree Juddha Campus offers bachelor courses like Bachelor of Education, Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Commerce, etc. Its former entities “Shree Juddha Higher Secondary School” offer 10+2 courses of National Examinations Board and “Shree Juddha Secondary School” offers up to 10th class of Secondary Education Examination Certificate (Nepal).


In the context of communication, Nepal Telecom and Ncell have the highest network coverage around the whole of Rautahat district. Ncell has a 4G network for a long time. But, now Nepal Telecom has a 4G network too. Another cellular network available in Rautahat is UTL Nepal, Smart Cell. Internet Service Provider like World link, UTL Nepal, TP-Link, and Nepal Telecom is also available. Subisu is the largest ISPs in the Rautahat district. Some of the Indian networks such as Airtel, Jio, Idea, BSNL, etc. are also available to the border side of the Rautahat District.


The geography of Rautahat district on the map of the present-day of Nepal has changed many times. For example, the Bagmati River separates the boundaries of Rautahat and Sarlahi districts. But some parts of Rautahat have been merged into the Sarlahi district due to the river cutting and changing currents. The main rivers of this district are Bagmati, Lal Bakaiya, Aruwa, Jhajh, Pauri, Chandi.


Rautahat district has a hot, humid, tropical climate. The mean annual rainfall of Rautahat district is about 2,214 mm. More than 80% of the total annual rainfall occurs during the monsoon season from June to September. There are several differences between the climate on the eastern edge of the Terai and on the western edge of the Terai to that of Rautahat in Nepal, although they lie in the same plain of Terai.

Places to visit:


It is in Rautahat district about 16 km away from Chandrapur located at the border of Makawanpur and Sarlahi in the lap of Rautahat Chure forests. It acts as a moderator to religious pilgrims who come to visit Lord Shiva Temple. Local people say that this temple is about more than 100 years old. Nunthar sees more than thousands of domestic tourists from neighboring districts. A suspension bridge over the Bagmati River has become a popular spot for a selfie to tourists.

Musahar Settlement:

Musahar Settlement in Chandranigahapur is another tourist destination in Rautahat. It was built by the famous Dhurmus Suntali duo. A view tower built inside the settlement which gives a 360-degree view of the surrounding hills. It is also famous for cinematics purposes. Visitors have to pay a fee of Rs 100 to climb the tower. According to local people, more than 200 visitors visit the settlement every day.


Another famous destination in Chandranigahapur is the Sahid Smriti park. The park is a favorite among picnickers. It offers a scenic view of the surrounding forests and abundant places to relax. More than 1000 of picnickers gather every year at the beginning and end of the winter season. Also at the starting of spring.

Krishna Pranami Temple:

Another fascinating destination in Rautahat district is the Najarpur village. The village is also known as Nijananda Dham. A temple of Lord Krishna is built in the village. The strange thing about this village is every villager is a vegetarian.






Leave a Reply

Related Post